Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview
16

Honda Suitcase Scooter VS Brompton Folding Bicycle

Drag racing for lunch at Publix...
16
Video: Seth // Words: Daniel

These days, I really enjoy not being in front of a camera or a face of any sort of media, as opposed to when I published a consistent stream of reviews, articles, etc., in the days of working at Pinkbike and Bicycling. Nevertheless, when Seth asked me if I wanted to help with this video, it seemed like an easy and fun opportunity for a soft return to being on video…

The plan was simple: We were going to test and compare two pieces of compact and portable micro-mobility. The Brompton folding bicycle and the Honda Motocompacto electric scooter. Seth was going to ride the Brompton, and I was going to be racing him on the Motocompacto. I don’t know if I didn’t pay attention to the idea in full or if I had a certain expectation for the Honda Motocompacto in the back of my mind. Still, I’ll say right away that expectations didn’t equal reality, as it often happens.

So what did I expect? I expected a goofy-looking motorized suitcase that would be a lot of fun to ride around town. I expected it to be a bit of a rough ride with the small wheels and no real tires, but I thought that it would be functional - and fun - fun is part of the word functional, after all. Plus, for the $1,000 that Honda sells these things for, it should essentially be a throttled-back 50cc dirt bike, right? Here’s my breakdown of how the day went. The video surely shows a lot more, but I’ll leave that for the video and just report on my experience here.

This post is for paid subscribers

Berm Peak
Videos
Everything from Berm Peak and Berm Peak Express, without ads and two weeks early.