Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview
18

Brothers Think It's Just a Tuneup—But I Lied!

What Started Out as a Buyer/Seller Interaction on Facebook Turned into Much More
18

In an earlier video, I ‘sold’ two of our project bikes on Facebook Marketplace, with the goal of not letting the buyers pay. In speaking with prospective buyers, I met a guy named Daniel, who was trying to buy the Kent Trouvaille for his 14-year-old brother.

Daniel made it clear that he was a long-time viewer of Berm Peak, so I asked him to tell me more about his situation. Upon hearing that the bike they were replacing was a Trek Marlin, I asked if he would be open to a tuneup and parts bin upgrade. Daniel was pumped.

I discovered some pretty serious problems with Samuel’s Trek Marlin, including a completely broken rear axle. What’s more? This Trek has a freewheel hub, making it a poor candidate for an upgrade anyway.

And so, we would meet at Chestnut Mountain for a hand-off. When I arrived, I was surprised to find there was a lot more to the story. Daniel and his brother, Samuel, had been riding Berm Park together since the grand opening, trading off Daniel’s Trek Marlin. Daniel then acquired a used Polygon Siskiu for $400 and gave his Trek Marlin to his younger brother, Samuel.

I think that every kid should have an older sibling like Daniel. Daniel was not only working to purchase a bike for his younger brother but also helping pay bills in his house. Between working and spending time with Samuel, we can easily give Daniel a pass for lapsing on bicycle maintenance. That Trek Marlin was in a sad state of affairs, and Daniel’s Polygon Siskiu had serious shifting issues. I asked if I could leave with both bikes, to which the brothers immediately agreed. I guess they’ve seen enough of our videos to make that decision with confidence.

From the moment I took possession of their bikes, I never intended on giving the Trek Marlin back to Samuel, as it was obviously much too small for him. This is where the other Daniel comes in—our very own editorial director, Daniel Sapp. He was able to get in touch with Bikesonline.com, the distributor for Polygon, and secure a brand new Siskiu T6. This is where the video provides all the context you need.

This post is for paid subscribers

Berm Peak
Videos
Everything from Berm Peak and Berm Peak Express, without ads and two weeks early.